top of page

Camp #4: Tuberculosis Rehabilitation Center

From July 10th through 14th our team was at the Tuberculosis Rehab center in Krivoy Rog.

As you can see in these pictures, we had color days, and challenged the children to wear a certain color everyday.

The children in this center have recovered from tuberculosis and are now rebuilding their immune system before they re-enter the world. The children will spend anywhere from 3 months (minimum) to several years here, away from their families. And some will come back every year for regular treatment.

The building and yard were very colorful and I later found out that the staff strongly believe in the power of color therapy.

Ukrainians never cease to amaze me with their resourcefulness.

We were told by the director of the rehab center that some of the children were released to go home already but insisted to stay for our camp. And also that, because of their families financial situations, most of these children will never experience a camp like this again. That definitely motivated me all week. If it was going to be their only camp, I wanted it to be amazing.

We did crafts: picture frames, candles, notebooks, hats, mugs, pencil cases.

We played games. The parachute was definitely a favorite.

We had a candy scavenger hunt. I loved hiding the candy.

And we told Bible stories.

On the last day we gave the children goody bags full of candy, toys, hygiene items, etc. And they presented me with a beautiful handmade Ukrainian doll, a book of drawings, and a poster.

I had an amazing week with these children. I will never forget it. I wish I could go back in time and do it all over again.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page