top of page

2 week update

I have officially been living in Krivoy Rog for 2 weeks. Although so much has happened that I feel as though it has been longer.

I have had the opportunity to speak at a public school about Canada. They have five English classes and I was very impressed with their knowledge of the English language. They had many question about Canada: taxes, food, holidays, transportation, the school system. I have been to the school twice now and will hopefully be back again in June when they have (what I understood it to a be) an English camp.

I met the ministry team that does outreach to the orphanages and children's hospitals in Krivoy Rog. They are planning to do six 5-day camps this summer and I will get to help with each of them. Each camp is at a different orphanage, hospital, or rehabilitation center. Four are in the city, and two of them will be in surrounding villages. This will fill most of my June and July with several days in between.

I have visited a dormitory for Orphans who have graduated from the system live with their families. I was able to play games with the children. I really enjoyed this experience. What I realized quickly was that even though I couldn't speak directly to the children, or them to me, they were still so happy to have people come, be with them, and love them. And they loved us back. Instantly. This was not specific to this place, but happened with all the children I visited.

Next I visited a tuberculosis rehabilitation center for children. This is where children who no longer need to be treated in the hospital go to be rehabilitated. Most of them will spend at least a year there. Some have spent much longer. They were all so beautiful. I, again, was able to play games with them and some fellow volunteers told an interactive Bible story. It broke my heart to think of the families that each of these children belong to, and how they had to be separated from them because of a disease. They didn't deserve it, but they were so happy anyway. When it was time to go, all the children wanted to give me a hug goodbye. Some would give me a hug, then walk away and come back again. They would do this six or seven times, and they were some of the best hugs I have ever received! It melted my heart.

May 13 was Family Day in Krivoy Rog. I spent this day at a big park playing with children from one of the orphanages. We colored and played relay races. I have been learning first hand that you do not need words to express the love of God.

I did get very sick during my second week being here. I started with my tonsils swelling up. Then the next day I woke up with an ear inflection. The next day, severe back pain. The next day, stomach pain. And the day after that, every muscle in my body was screaming at me. So, I finally decided I was going to have to spent the day in bed. And so I did. I concluded all of this to be adjustment pains, since I am sleeping in a different bed, eating different food, and walking a lot more than usual. It was a complete shock to my body. Also, I do not think my Canadian immune system was strong enough for Ukrainian buses.

After spending Day 7 of being sick, I was healed, over night, of all the pain that had me bedridden. I thank God that he is my healer. As of now, I am perfectly healthy, finally adjusted to the time zone, and excited for every thing that is to come!

Talk to you soon.

Thank you for being a part of my adventure!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page