top of page

Camp #1: Skadovsk

I spent the first week of June in Skadovsk, Ukraine working along side Ed Dickson, his team, and 13 Texans who came to Ukraine on a short term missions trip.

In Skadovsk, there is a beautiful camp that runs all summer long. Children from Krivoy Rog will come for three weeks at a time. Each shift is for a specific group of children: children with disabilities, children from orphanages and boarding schools, and children gifted in sport or the arts.

In the beginning stages, this camp did not provide any scheduled activities for the children. Children were provided a room to sleep and food to eat, but were expected to fill their own time during the day. There simply was no funds to do anything more. Over the years, with Ed’s help, the camp has evolved to include more activities. The children seemed to be busy. To our surprise, every night the students were gathered in an outdoor stadium where children showcased their talents. There were group dances, group skits, solos, trios, and more. I was blown away every night by the talents that the children possessed.

Going in, our goal was to reach all 600 children with the gospel while giving them activities to help fill their days. We split into three stations: crafts, recreation, and interactive Bible stories. Each station included a biblical reference, Bible story, and/or testimony. We would rotate groups, separated by age, (usually 30-40 children per group) through these stations, doing 3-6 age groups per day. By the end of the week, every student had participated and heard about the love of God.

We witnessed, and prayed with, many students who decided, during our time there, to begin a relationship with God. How incredibly beautiful these moments were.

All week we introduced ourselves as Christians: “Hello, my name is April and I believe in God.” I learned that there is a very special feeling that comes with being an unapologetic follower of Christ. This made me wonder why in the past I have been afraid of the title “Christian”. Maybe it is because I am worried that people will treat me differently. But isn’t that the point? Maybe it is because I am worried that I won’t be able to make someone believe what I believe. But is that my job or God’s job?

This week I’ve been reminded that, as a follower of Christ, I am different, and I should embrace this difference because it is how I can be a light to the world. 1 Peter 2:9, “You are God’s very own possession. As a result, you can show others the goodness of God, for he called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light.” When I tell someone that I am a believer, it doesn’t make me responsible for their salvation, instead it opens a door for God to work in their life, through me.

If this week has given me anything, it would be a more audacious faith. If I can stand in front of 600 children and tell them that I love Jesus, then it is probable I can tell one person I see in the grocery store, in the park, or on the street, the same thing.

I don’t want to be the same as the world. I want to help save the world.

Romans 12:2, “Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this wold, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page